Friday, 05 August 2022 04:50

NAF redeploys 14 AVMs, others

The Chief of the Air Staff Air Marshal Oladayo Amao, has approved the immediate redeployment of 14 Air Vice Marshals (AVMs) barely 48 hours after his directive to Nigerian Air Force (NAF) operational and air component Commanders to maximiae the deployment of firepower against terrorists and other criminal elements.


A statement by NAF’s Director of Public Relations and Information, Air Commodore Edward Gabkwet, said the shakeup was part of efforts to inject new blood into the system.

Amao, according to the statement, also ordered the redeployment and appointment of new New Air Officers Commanding (AOCs) and other senior officers.


It said the newly appointed and redeployed senior officers are expected to assume their new offices on or before today.


The newly appointed Branch Chiefs are: Air Vice Marshal (AVM) Jackson Yusuf, formerly Chief of Training and Operations (CTOP), who is now the Chief of Policy and Plans (COPP) Headquarters NAF (HQ NAF), Abuja; AVM Oluwafemi Ogunmola, former Director of Intelligence Surveillance and Reconnaissance, now Chief of Communications Information Systems (CCIS), HQ NAF.

Others are: AVM Aliyu Bello, former Chief of Standards and Evaluation (COSE), is now redeployed as the CTOP, HQ NAF, Abuja; while AVM Nkem Aguiyi takes over as the Chief of Air Intelligence (CAI), and AVM Hassan Abubakar, former AOC Logistics Command, is now the Chief of Standards and Evaluation.

Also, the former COPP, AVM Charles Ohwo moves to Defence Headquarters (DHQ), Abuja, as the Chief of Defence Transformation and Innovation; AVM Abubakar Liman, former CAI, is now the Director of Space Utilisation, DHQ; while AVM Hycinth Eze, former Group Managing Director (GMD), NAF Holding Company, takes over as Director of Production, DHQ.


Also, AVM Musa Muktar takes over as the GMD NAF Holding Company, while AVM Raimi Salami, the erstwhile CCIS, is now the Director of Strategy, DHQ.

Furthermore, the newly appointed AOCs are: AVM Precious Amadi, AOC Tactical Air Command (TAC), Makurdi, Benue State; AVM Abubakar Abdulkadir, AOC Special Operations Command (SOC), Bauchi; AVM Nnamdi Ananaba, AOC Air Training Command (ATC), Kaduna; while AVM Emmanuel Shobande takes over as AOC Logistics Command (LC), Lagos.


883 times

Leave a comment

Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of / Abati Media or any employee thereof.