Tuesday, 11 June 2019 12:49

Ahmed Lawan sworn-in as Senate President


Senator Ahmed Lawan has been sworn in as the President of the ninth Senate by the Clerk of the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori.

This followed Lawan’s defeat of Senator Ali Ndume by 79 votes to 28 in an election that saw 107 senators vote.


Sani-Omolori administered the Oaths of Allegiance and Office to Lawan before he assumed the seat of the Senate President.

“You now have a seating Senate President. I can no longer hit the gavel,” Sani-Omolori told the senators-elect.

With his election, Ahmad is now to oversee the election of other principal officers of the ninth Senate.



Read 311 times