Print this page
Thursday, 20 January 2022 03:34

AFCON 2021: Nine countries qualify for round of 16 [Full list]

At least, nine countries have qualified for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON, round of 16.

Egypt became the latest country to book its place in the 2021 AFCON last-16 on Wednesday.

The Pharaohs defeated Sudan 1-0, thanks to Mohamed Abdelmonem’s first-half goal.

Egypt finished in the second position in Group D with 6 points, while Nigeria finished on top of the group with 9 points after beating Guinea-Bissau 2-0 on Wednesday night.

The other eight countries that have since booked their place in the AFCON round of 16 are Cameroon, Morocco, Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Senegal, Guinea, Morocco and Gabon.

Cameroon was the first country to qualify for the AFCON round of 16 after wins over Burkina Faso and Ethiopia.

Morocco was the second nation to qualify for the last-16 after two victories over Ghana and Comoros.


3172 times

Join us on Whatsapp