Print this page
Tuesday, 18 January 2022 05:46

AFCON 2021: Four countries qualify for round of 16

At least four countries have qualified for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON, round of 16.

Burkina Faso became the latest country to book their place in the 2021 AFCON last-16 after playing a 1-1 draw with Ethiopia on Monday.

Burkina Faso finished in the second position with four points in Group A, behind leaders and host Cameroon (seven points).

The other three countries that have since booked their place in the AFCON round of 16 are Cameroon, Morocco and Nigeria.

Cameroon was the first country to qualify for the AFCON round of 16 after victories over Burkina Faso and Ethiopia.

Morocco was the second nation to qualify for the knockout stage after two wins over Ghana and Comoros.

Nigeria, on the other hand, qualified for the AFCON round of 16 at the weekend after beating Sudan 3-1.

The Super Eagles had defeated seven-time African champions Egypt 1-0 last Tuesday.

Meanwhile, the last Group stage matches will continue on Tuesday evening.

Malawi will face Senegal, while Zimbabwe will clash with Guinea.


649 times

Join us on Whatsapp